UK Democracy Meetup

The purpose of this event is for people and organisations working on improving UK democracy to quickly share their activities and news with the wider network. They are held fortnightly on Mondays.

They are designed to be asynchronous - i.e. you can participate whenever is convenient for you - but there’s a 30 minute live session at 2pm for if it’s your first time, if you like seeing a few friendly faces, or just if it’s useful for you to have time scheduled in your calendar (use this link:

Updates submitted will be edited and sent out via the mailing list:

Looking for a different event?

Here’s every democracy event we know about:

Or tell us about yours:

Next Meetup

🔜 Monday 1st August 2022 - You can still contribute to this until the 8th August

Meetup & Bulletin Archive

                Browse recent issues of the Democracy Bulletin on our Medium

2021 joins forces with, switches to fortnightly on mondays!

Take the Ecosystem Pledge

We are a group of individuals and organisations working on improving democracy in the UK. We are reaching out because we recognise there are many other organisations working towards the same goal.

The sector is much larger than most assume - our research discovered more than 700 organisations - but it’s extraordinarily fragmented. Most organisations are unaware of research, funding, talent or access that they need even though it is available, and this is disproportionately holding back the sector.

If we want things to change, we need to start talking to each other more. We invite you to take part.

Hope to see you soon!

  • Edward Saperia, Newspeak House
  • Joe Mitchell, Public Interest News Foundation
  • James Moulding, Campaign Lab
  • Michelle Man, ClientEarth & The Politics Project
  • Jonny Will Chambers, Koreo
  • Rich Wilson, Involve UK
  • Diane Sims, Notwestminster
  • Sam Gilbert, Bennett Institute for Public Policy, University of Cambridge
  • Alex Zur-Clark, Democratic Society
  • Polly Mackenzie, Demos
  • Rich Rippin, Sortition Foundation
  • James Robertson, Sortition Foundation
  • Ciaran Cummins, Demos
  • Anna Hamilos, Nesta
  • Kat Zscharnagk, Nesta
  • Oli Whittington, Nesta
  • Carrie Deacon
  • Diane Daniels, Simple Politics
  • Hattie Andrews, The Politics Project
  • Kyle Taylor, Fair Vote UK
  • Ed Hammond, Centre for Governance and Scrutiny
  • Liz Moore, Association for Citizenship Teaching
  • Greg Sanderson, Smart School Councils
  • Frances Scott, 50:50 Parliament
  • Neal Lawson, Compass
  • Roger Wilson, Unite To Reform
  • Grant Peisley, Datblygiadau Egni Gwledig (DEG)
  • Natalie Fenton, Media Reform Coalition
  • Yuji Develle, Wonk Bridge
  • Michael De La Rue
  • Peter Anderson, VocalEyes Democracy CIC
  • Josh Russell, Forward Democracy
  • Barnaby Flynn, Flatpack Democracy, Global People Power, Global Democracy Initiative
  • Evan Parker, Independent Constitutionalists UK, independent author
  • Michael Mulvey, Independent Constitutionalists UK
  • Joe Mac, Participative Democracy
  • Jon Morter, The Progressive Alliance
  • Keith Garrett, Rebooting Democracy,
  • Hanna Israel, My Country Talks
  • Gavin Barker, Centre for Welfare Reform
  • Jennifer Nadel, Compassion in Politics
  • Jez Hall, Shared Future CIC
  • Molly Pipe, The Reshuffle
  • Andy Parkhouse, Delib
  • Titus Alexander, Democracy Matters, Practical Politics
  • James Smith, Open Politics, Something New
  • Shelagh Wright, Civic
  • Myfanwy Nixon, MySociety
  • Rebecca Deegan, I Have A Voice
  • Katy Rubin, Legislative Theatre practitioner
  • Sebastian Salek, Clear the Lobby
  • Anna Randle, Collaborate CIC
  • Colin Miller, Deeper Democracy Network
  • Ian Roderick, The Schumacher Institute
  • Thomas Borwick, College Green Group
  • Alan Finlayson, Professor of Political & Social Theory, University of East Anglia
  • Danielle Vaughan, Shout Out UK
  • Nick Martlew, Digital Action
  • Matt Chocqueel-Mangan, Vote for Policies
  • Ben Little, Soundings Journal and University of East Anglia
  • Liz Crosbie, Reboot GB
  • Sam Jeffers, Who Targets Me
  • Klina Jordan, Make Votes Matter
  • Lizzy Lewis, Votes for Schools
  • Tom Brake, Unlock Democracy
  • Rose Lasko-Skinner, Demos
  • Samayya Afzal, British Youth Council
  • Mohammed Afridi
  • Amy Jones, Together Creating Communities, Trefnu Cymunedol Cymru
  • Pilar Girvan - Involve/Democracy Network
  • Kathie Conn - XR UK Citizens’ Assembly Working Group

Add your name, if you like!